emt certificate example

If you feel comfortable giving service to your fellowmen and are not afraid of handling blood, then you can be a certified EMT. But, of course, this would depend on the stage of training you have undergone. In as early as 6 months of EMT training you can easily be a certified EMT. So, for further information on the licensing and certification qualifications and requirements for EMT just read on below…

Qualifications And Requirements In Order To Become Certified

Although qualifications and requirements to become an EMT differ from state to state however, one thing needs to be sure: that you must be a holder of an EMT license. Now, how does one become a licensed EMT? All you have to do is to finish the EMT training program on all stages or levels, from the basic training program to the paramedic stage.

Before becoming a certified EMT, of course, you need to finish the EMT training program. These training courses typically run for ½ to 2 years which is also dependent on the level of EMT you would want to gain. In order to be qualified to any EMT training course, you have to be at least 18 years of age with a passed criminal background assessment.

EMT-Basic is the lowest level in the EMT course that you can take. At this stage, it usually takes 100-hours of lessons plus a clinical training overseen by an instructor for at least 15 to 30 hours. Most of the schools that provide this kind of training have flexible schedules like providing weekend course or night time classes. Being an EMT apprentice, you will have the opportunity to work side by side with certified EMTs within hospitals or ambulance settings. In an EMT course, you will have the opportunity to know the following by heart:

  • Management of Heart Problems
  • Basic life Support
  • Physiology and Anatomy
  • Management of trauma and respiratory problems
  • Assessment and stabilization of patient
  • First Aid
  • Basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR)

Certification Guidelines

Getting an EMT-Basic certification entails that aside from completing a training course that is state approved, you also need to pass NREMT or National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians examination in order to be certified. Another option from the NREMT licensure is to get a licensing exam within your state.

For each level of the EMT Training course, there is also a corresponding exam. These exams test EMTs practical and cognitive skills. You will only be given three exam retakes and when you have flunked all three you need to get an additional training of 24 hours before you can retake the exam once more. And when you are already a certified EMT, getting a continuing education is a must and every two years you have to take the exam again to update your license.

Levels of Certification

The NREMT presents two stages of certification higher than the EMT-Basic stage and this is the paramedic and intermediate. Each official recognition has precise education and examination qualifications and requirements. Paramedic and intermediate education is founded on the basic-level training and could take an added two more years to finish